.

Jan. 25, 2003

� From an email I just got in my box:

I am a strong Christian; I am not the most scholarly Christian, but I do know some things about the way a follower of Christ should act. One of the teachers of the law asked Jesus which of the commandments was the most important. �The most important one,� answered Jesus, �is this: �Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.� The second one is this: �Love your neighbor as yourself.� There is no commandment greater than these.� � Mark 12:29-31. The point is, these people who are ranting are not following the second commandment. They are not showing love to their �neighbor,� which, in this case, is you. Christians just get into their �holier-than-thou� mode and don�t stop to think how foolish it is to yell at someone who does not share the same faith. Is yelling and ranting ever a good way to convey a loving and compassionate God? Is it a good way to win someone over to the cause of Christ? Definitely not! Of course, I�m not pretending to be perfect. I am far from it, but I�d like to see Christians actually try to be Christ-like. So, I guess I�d just like you to know that not all Christians are obnoxious.

Sincerely,

Megan C.

"Don't let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity." -- I Timothy 4:12

� Thanks, Megan. Good to see there's some level headed believers out there.

.

.








.. Other Items
..

Rings
..

Atheist Diary Notify List

Be notified when a new rant is posted or this site gets updated:
.
enter your email:

.


Click for Your Random Jesus Pic

Tell A Friend About
AtheistDiary.com

Your Name:

Your E-mail:

Your Friend's E-mail:

Your Comments:


Receive copy:

.

Hosted by Diaryland.com