.

Dec. 10, 2002

Subj:� I have a problem with your diary.
Date:� 12/10/2002 12:24:48 AM Pacific Standard Time
From:� [email protected]
To:� [email protected]

Dear "Atheist" Guy.

I have a very big problem with your diary. I'm not trying to flame or offend you in any way, I just wanted to bring some things to your attention. I'm totally open to debate and discussion. As an agnostic myself, I doubt the presence of a God or gods, but do not rule it out completely. I'm not some raving Christian who is offended by Satanic links or anything, I'm just one who prefers correct terminology when referring to religions. Yes, atheism is a religion.

You've labelled your diary/website, which is very well constructed I must say, the Atheist Diary. When I clicked on your banner, I expected less A. Crowley and more A. Camus, if you know what I mean. Instead of atheist existentialism, however, I found numerous links to Satanism and various references to the like. I wasn't offended, because hey, christian mythology is cool. Paradise Lost kicks ass. I was mostly upset by the lack of correct use of terminology.

An atheist is someone who rejects the notion of a God or gods. Be it the judeo-christian God, or the many gods of the Hindus.� Satan is the profoundly evil adversary of God and humanity, often identified with the leader of the fallen angels. He is very much rooted in judeo-christian mythology and without a belief in God, one can very well not believe in Satan. Therefore, an atheist, by definition, would not believe in, let alone worship, satan.

I suppose you can see how your use of atheism in your title is rather misleading.

Also, doesn't buying and displaying Fight Club merchandise kind of go against the theme of the entire movie?

-Jenn

-----------------------------

Dear "Jenn"

Lighten up.

-The "Atheist" Guy

.

.

.








.. Other Items
..

Rings
..

Atheist Diary Notify List

Be notified when a new rant is posted or this site gets updated:
.
enter your email:

.


Click for Your Random Jesus Pic

Tell A Friend About
AtheistDiary.com

Your Name:

Your E-mail:

Your Friend's E-mail:

Your Comments:


Receive copy:

.

Hosted by Diaryland.com